MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: is the vga card really bad???
July 23, 2019, 01:01:04 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 23, 2019, 01:01:04 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: is the vga card really bad???  (Read 1100 times)
oldbiker
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 31


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 18, 2005, 09:18:24 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:xp Home
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:Gateway XL700
Error Messages:on monitor..."no signal input"


A friend brought over his Gateway saying that he had no video..it has an nvidia g-force4 (written on the fan, don't know how else to identify it). the fan on it wobbles and makes a terrible racket (yes I read the thread about the fan) I get an error on the monitor that says no signal input..this card has both dvi and standard video ports (both hook up to the flat pannel). I get an error that says no signal input...I have another card but it does not have enough notches to fit in the agp slot..my question...how do I know for sure it is the card and not something else...I pulled the card an reseated it..no luck...I just don't wanna have my buddy buy a card and that not be the problem. Thanks for any advice!!!

Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2005, 09:24:41 PM »

Verify that the monitor is properly connected in the back of the monitor as well as to the back of the computer.

If the monitor appears to be connected properly, verify that a cable is not loose by disconnecting all cables that can be disconnected in the back of the monitor (generally the data cable cannot be disconnected). Next, disconnect the data cable connected to the back of the computer and then reconnect the cable. When connecting the cable in the back of the computer ensure the cable connection is tight. Most Computers will also have screw ends that can be screwed in to hold the connector in place.

If the connections appear to be correct, unfortunately it is likely that either the monitor or the computer video card is bad. To test which component is bad either connect a different monitor to your computer or connect your monitor to a different computer.

If another monitor works on your computer it is likely a bad monitor.
If your monitor works on another computer it is likely a bad video card.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
oldbiker
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 31


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2005, 04:37:13 PM »

ok I hooked up another monitor, still no good...This card will not fit in any other computers I have...came close on the dell, but seems the port is not in the same location, so I don't have another card to fit it or even a pci card..I feel sure that the card is the problem, however could there be a driver issue??
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2005, 04:43:47 PM »

Check the Device Manager to look for a driver issue
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
oldbiker
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 31


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2005, 05:52:03 PM »

Well the card was the problem, I couldn't check the device manager as I had nothing on the monitor..lol..however I had to get a card from Gateway and then the new card didn't have a dvi connector, so I just hooked up the standard connector and unhooked the dvi cable from the monitor, It all seemed to work just fine, I thank you for all your time and input...Jack
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2005, 05:58:00 PM »

Your Welcome Jack, Thanks for visiting MyTechSupport.ca

This thread will be closed, if you need it re-opened plz pm a moderator
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page June 30, 2018, 02:32:16 AM