MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Networking Problems arrow Topic: Connect directly through ethernet cable
July 18, 2019, 12:18:59 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 18, 2019, 12:18:59 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Check out our improved Download section for tons of software....
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Connect directly through ethernet cable  (Read 1041 times)
Michael Muntz
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 18


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 23, 2005, 05:40:50 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version: Windows XP Home & Professional
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:


I cannot connect my Virtual PC for Mac 7.0 with Windows XP Home Edition to my Emachines running Windows XP Professional through a wireless network, so I have decided to try and use a DSL cable. I plugged each end in, one into the LAN port on my Mac, and the other into the LAN port on my PC.

My question is, how do I activate this, so I can transfer files from my PC onto my Mac? I have tried setting up networks to no avail. Using Virtual PC for Mac 7, for those of you who don't know what this is, it is litterally Windows XP on my macintosh computer. I am running OS X 10.4 Tiger, however in a seperate window, I can also run Windows XP Home at the same time.

Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks
« Last Edit: July 23, 2005, 05:53:36 AM by Michael Muntz » Logged

 
elf
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 67


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2005, 05:09:20 PM »

You will need something like THIS.

A crossover cable, available at any computer shop in the world. It simply switches 2(? maybe 4) wires inside so that you can connect directly computer to computer.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2005, 05:09:44 PM by elf » Logged

omg weeee
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page July 31, 2018, 12:22:26 AM