MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: wont recognize cd-rw + floppy
April 24, 2019, 02:57:56 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 24, 2019, 02:57:56 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Down Print
Author Topic: wont recognize cd-rw + floppy  (Read 2489 times)
roberto
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 58


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 27, 2005, 04:31:09 AM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:win 98 se
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:benq cd r-rw   - lg
Error Messages:do you want to reformat your floppy, or something like that



Hi guys the problem i have is that i thought my burner had died, it kept revving up then slow, etc but would never drive any software. it would recognize it but would lock up the software, or stall it when i used it.  So i bought a new one and now the computer wont recognize it at all, and when i try a floppy it stalls and then says do i want to reformat, because it isnt formatted. i have also replaced it. same problem.  I wonder if any of these symptoms sound familiar to you tech guys. any help would be much appreciated.
                      THANKS from roberto
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2005, 03:33:43 PM »

Did you change your IDE cables? How do you have it configured and on what controller?
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2005, 02:14:36 PM »

I have same problem with my floppy,,nothing has been changed since new in Jan/05,,,help?Huh?Huh?Huh???
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 02, 2005, 02:21:12 PM »

wayne1721, we always suggest you start your own thread. Not everyones issues are exactly the same. We would not want you trying some advise that we are giving another user and mess up your system..

However, you can look over this link to see if it helps you

http://www.5starsupport.com/faq/floppy.htm#2-5
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 02, 2005, 02:27:17 PM »

I didnt start a new thread simply because his floppy problem and mine are the same and!,,to save space on your site.
But thanks for the link I`ll diagnose by their advice.
Logged

 
roberto
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 58


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2005, 03:13:23 AM »

hi geek girl, sorry i've been dead for a while. Most of my problem seems to be cured. I mucked around with cables, and then realized maybe the jumpers needed shifting around. This seemed to fix the cd rom and burner, but my floppy still wont read discs. It recognizes it in my computer but wont drive. I've replaced the cable, and the floppy itself but it still wants to know if i want to format etc. etc.   I dont know if it is fixable or if it is a motherboard problem.
            i'm not sure if you can help.
               Thanks for your time geek girl.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2005, 02:01:28 PM »

Is the BIOS reconizing it also?
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
roberto
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 58


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2005, 12:29:47 AM »

hey   not to sure about the BIOS as i am not quite up to geek status yet, but the black screen at start-up says it cannot find a floppy and i must press F1 to continue, or Del to enter setup. In my computer, the drive is recognized but when i click on it i get the message that the drive isn't ready yet. What do you reckon.
                           Thanks...
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2005, 01:55:03 PM »

Press DEL to enter setup when you get that message. There should be an option for you to press F9 to set default settings, try this first and reboot.
The option will be listed normally at the bottom of the screen
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
roberto
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 58


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 09, 2005, 12:56:32 AM »

thanks geek girl. I tried the reset defaults but all remains the same. A is not accessible , retry later or cancel.
   could this be the end of my motherboard?
                 thanks.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: August 09, 2005, 07:48:23 PM »

Can be either the floppy drives(s) are bad or the floppy cable or the actual connector on the board.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
roberto
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 58


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: August 10, 2005, 12:34:45 AM »

I have replaced the floppy twice, and tried a new cable so i suppose it must be the connector. Is there any way of fixing this, or is all lost?  Thanks geek girl.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: August 10, 2005, 12:38:59 AM »

I've never messed with the floppy controller, just either dont use the floppy or replacethe board. Unlesss soemone else has any suggestions I am out of ideas I am sorry Sad
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
roberto
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 58


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #13 on: August 10, 2005, 06:44:22 AM »

I suppose i will just not use the thing, but at startup it takes all this time to not recognize the thing. Is there any way to stop the computer from looking for the floppy, and is there any way i can get rid of the [ press f1 to start or del. to enter setup ] it is quite annoying.I really appreciate your help geek girl thanks heaps.
         
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #14 on: August 11, 2005, 01:47:31 PM »

I had an issue with a floppy drive exactly like yours recently. I resolved the issue by replacing it with a working one, so I dont know what the issue is with yours. I had a bunch of old floppies lying around and 2 were not any good, please make sure these drives are in working order when you test them.
After replacing I did not get the [ press f1 to start or del. to enter setup ] at boot.
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] 2  All Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page September 16, 2017, 07:43:40 AM