MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Hardware Support arrow Hardware Devices Problems arrow Topic: Boot problem
July 23, 2019, 01:23:12 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 23, 2019, 01:23:12 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  Looking for cheap hardware and/or software?
Visit our new Online Store where you will be able to purchase from a reputable vendor by country.
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Boot problem  (Read 1238 times)
cether01
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 90


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: July 29, 2005, 03:16:25 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:XP HOME
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:PRESARIO 700US
Error Messages:



When I boot from the HDD, i get "A disk read error occurred"  

When I boot to a floppy I get, "Disk I/O Error"

When I boot from XP HOME CD it goes through the first part of setup and then says "we did not detect a hard drive installed in your computer" but only sometimes.  Sometimes it just says "A disk read error occurred"

I dont believe this is a damaged HDD but I may be wrong.  It spins up in the machine and it dont make any weird noises. Any suggestions?
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2005, 03:28:45 PM »

Verify the connections to the hard drive / thats what it is searching for / maybe the power plug came unplugged ?
Change out the IDE cable also

You may want to reset the CMOS battery, disconect the power supply from main board and remove the battery, wait about 20-30 min then reconnect it all and try booting
« Last Edit: July 29, 2005, 03:31:28 PM by Geekgirl » Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
cether01
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 90


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2005, 03:52:24 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by Geekgirl

Verify the connections to the hard drive / thats what it is searching for / maybe the power plug came unplugged ?
Change out the IDE cable also

You may want to reset the CMOS battery, disconect the power supply from main board and remove the battery, wait about 20-30 min then reconnect it all and try booting


I meant to mention that this is a Laptop.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2005, 02:37:55 PM »

You can still take out the hard drive and check the connection ribbon
and place it back in. If you continue to recieve this error it is possible your hard drive is going bad
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
cether01
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 90


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2005, 06:35:47 PM »

quote:
Originally posted by Geekgirl

You can still take out the hard drive and check the connection ribbon
and place it back in. If you continue to recieve this error it is possible your hard drive is going bad


Ok, I have checked the connection for the hard drive and the ribbon cable.  Everything seemes to be intact and I reseated the cables just in case.  Powered back on and still the same thing.  

Question:  If it was the HDD, it should still boot up from a floppy right?
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2005, 09:40:04 PM »

Try going into the BIOS (tapping the Delete key at boot) and reset the settings back to default
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 26, 2017, 06:34:27 PM