MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Security & Viruses arrow Topic: corrupt message
June 03, 2020, 03:43:57 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 03, 2020, 03:43:57 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: corrupt message  (Read 785 times)
johnniep
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 14


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 06, 2005, 09:37:16 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:
Problem Application Name & Version:
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:


Windows XP Pro,P4 2.53GHz
Hi,
This message is to Geekgirl
I think that link you gave might solve my prob.except that last evening I shut my PC down & this AM when I turned it on I got the following message :
Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
C\WINDOWS.O\SYSTEM\vgaoem.fon
You can attempt to repair this file by starting windows setup using the original setup CD-ROM. Select 'r' at the 1st screen to start the repair. I am not what you would call "genius material" by any means so I guess what I need to know is how do I get this PC running & what the procedure is to start the repair? Kinda like blow by blow instructions. Hope this doesn't scare you off.
                       Thanks,
                            John
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2005, 05:06:22 PM »

You do not want to use the first "R" that will take you to the Recovery Console. Pass that by and then chose to install. It will reconize that you already have an Operating System installed and it will ask you if you want to repair it, this time you do press "R" for repair.
Hope this helps
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
johnniep
Jr. Member
**

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 14


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2005, 07:08:08 PM »

Hey geekgirl,
I followed your instructions & it did a repair in stage 4 of 5. The PC is up & running & functioning like its supposed to. You made my day.
Thx,
John
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2005, 07:33:13 PM »

So happy you got your issue resolved John Grin

Thank you for visiting MyTechSupport.ca
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page April 01, 2020, 05:06:49 AM