MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Webmasters : Web Design Problems arrow Topic: Robust ftp
June 26, 2019, 06:28:44 PM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
June 26, 2019, 06:28:44 PM

Login with username, password and session length
 
News
New  New Poll on our main page!
"My experience with Vista..."
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: Robust ftp  (Read 4506 times)
hollow legs
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 67


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 13, 2005, 03:59:33 PM »

PLEASE SUPPLY RELEVANT INFORMATION:
Operating System Version:Windows XP2
Problem Application Name & Version:Robust ftp
Problem Hardware Make & Model:
Error Messages:

I installed this program and was not having much luck with it and so uninstalled it. However I find that it is still running in the background (In task manager). What I want to do now is get rid otf it completly, I have tried in the Start/all programs and looked for robust but it is not on the start menu so I cannot uninstall that way. I have also tried in the Control Panel/remove programs but it is not there also.
I have also tried to remove it using Add/Remove Pro utility, but it is still running in the background.
I have also done a search for the files on the pc and it shows that the program is on the pc.
So how can i get rid of it?Cheesy

Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2005, 04:07:40 PM »

This will stop it from running at startup, then we will look deeper into removing it.
First what program is it?  robust?
Click Start>Run type in msconfig
Click the startup tab and take the check out of the box beside the  robust entry.

« Last Edit: August 13, 2005, 04:07:57 PM by Geekgirl » Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
hollow legs
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 67


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2005, 07:36:14 PM »

On the startup tab it says robustftp in c:\program files\robust.ws\robustFTP\rubustftp.exe\STARTUP
location HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
It also has a check in the box

Originally I was using this software to upload my web pages to my ISP.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2005, 08:37:55 PM »

And you cant delete it or remove it?
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
hollow legs
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 67


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2005, 05:36:22 PM »

No, tried to uninstall it using their uninstall program but it is still there. Also I have tried to re-install it and then uninstall but nt go.Sad
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2005, 05:52:01 PM »

quote:
On the startup tab it says robustftp in c:\program files\robust.ws\robustFTP\rubustftp.exe\STARTUP
location HKCU\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
It also has a check in the box

Remove the check

Go to C:\Program files and delete the folder
« Last Edit: August 14, 2005, 05:52:23 PM by Geekgirl » Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
hollow legs
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 67


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2005, 02:23:00 PM »

have done as you suggested, but when windows closes a message appears saying start up is running in selective startup do you wish to continue.
Also will I need to remove the entry line from the registry (and all other lines relating to robust)?
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2005, 02:26:20 PM »

quote:
have done as you suggested, but when windows closes a message appears saying start up is running in selective startup do you wish to continue.

Put a check in the box to not show you this selection everytime your boot.

 
quote:
Also will I need to remove the entry line from the registry (and all other lines relating to robust)?

Yes, make sure you back up the registry before editing
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
hollow legs
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 67


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2005, 03:21:08 PM »

Thanks Geek Girl, backed up registry and then deleted all references to robust and the reference to robust in the startup tab was removed also.
Re-booted and there is no reference to robust running. All apears to be running fine now.
Many thanks for your help.
Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2005, 03:28:44 PM »

Your Welcome, stop back for all your comptuer questions Grin
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
michel101
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: October 19, 2010, 07:47:15 AM »

I am a web developer so I want to give some basic information about Robust ftp...Robust FTP, a superior file transfer client for upload/download. Send, receive, resume, synchronize, drag and drop and more.Robust FTP, Perfect tool for Web developers or anyone that moves files on the Internet. Ftp Client & Download Manager all in one.Windows XP SP2 has been update to provide you with better infection protection such as worms, viruses and Trojans.
Logged

*Link Removed*
violetta3
Newbie
*

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 1


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2011, 09:20:31 PM »

interesting information!!! thank you!!!
Logged
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page Today at 05:14:02 PM