MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters! MyTechSupport.ca :: Your Computer Technical Resource Headquarters!
HOME FORUMS RESOURCES & TOOLS ARTICLES ONLINE STORE ABOUT US
Computer Support Forums arrow Internet & Network Support arrow Networking Problems arrow Topic: D-LINK ROUTER problem
April 06, 2020, 10:43:59 AM
 

Home Forum Rules Help Search Mobile Version Login Register

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 06, 2020, 10:43:59 AM

Login with username, password and session length
 Featured Sites:
News
Welcome to MyTechSupport.ca! - Registration is FREE, so why not join our friendly community today?
  0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Pages: [1] Go Down Print
Author Topic: D-LINK ROUTER problem  (Read 2682 times)
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« on: August 24, 2005, 11:14:20 PM »

Concerning the router,can someone tell me what MTU settings are? I had a problem after I had to disconnect it and when I connected it again at a later date,it will not allow me to connect with ISP to go online and finish the setup.I have been communicating with support at D-LINK and latest suggestion was to adjust the MTU settings to 1400.They take days to reply so I hope someone here knows and can help.
ThanksMicrosoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Hawk>config-all
'config-all' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Hawk>ipconfig-all
'ipconfig-all' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Hawk>ipconfig -all

Windows IP Configuration

        Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Wayne
        Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . :
        Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Unknown
        IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
        WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 2:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : VIA Rhine II Fast Ethernet Adapter
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-11-09-9F-91-35
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
        Autoconfiguration IP Address. . . : 169.254.245.112
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

PPP adapter execulink:

        Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . :
        Description . . . . . . . . . . . : WAN (PPP/SLIP) Interface
        Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-53-45-00-00-00
        Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
        IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 67.158.76.86
        Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.255
        Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 67.158.76.86
        DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 199.166.6.2
        NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

C:\Documents and Settings\Hawk>
« Last Edit: August 24, 2005, 11:58:42 PM by wayne1721 » Logged

 
Geekgirl
Global Moderator
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +25/-1
Offline Offline

Gender: Female
Posts: 3175



Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2005, 02:45:28 AM »

Check out this link

http://help.expedient.net/broadband/mtu.shtml
Logged




Girlz Rule ...Boyz Drool
____________________________
ALWAYS BACKUP YOUR REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2005, 12:17:51 PM »

Thanks Geekgirl but I got a reply from d-link and now know about MTU settings but will not be able to change the settings due to the fact that when I install the router unto my system and try to connect to my ISP it wont connect in order for me to go to the d-link configuration set-up site.A few weeks ago when I 1st installed the router all was well but I had to uninstall it and many attempts to reinstall it lead to the same results.
Any ideas on this?
Also,in the info above where the IP info are shown,I am wondering about the differences in the rhine numbers and settings and the wan numbers and settings,do they seem right to you?
I do get a message that the rhine has limited or no connectivity
« Last Edit: August 25, 2005, 12:24:16 PM by wayne1721 » Logged

 
elf
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 67


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2005, 07:36:07 PM »

You should be able to get into the router configuration without ever connecting to the internet.

Your subnet masks look a little screwy, the average home network's subnet mask should be 255.255.255.0 (class C address). Also on your Rhine connection you have no default gateway, which is a bad thing...

A quick question so I can provide you with more info...what type of router is it? DLink XXXX?
Logged

omg weeee
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2005, 10:21:15 PM »

Hi,,its a D-LINK DI604 REVISION E
Logged

 
elf
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 67


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 27, 2005, 01:56:07 PM »

Do you connect through PPPoE? There is an installation wizard available HERE but I can't say for certain if it will work at all...

Either way, there is a manual walkthrough available
HERE
Logged

omg weeee
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2005, 06:01:20 PM »

OK ELF,,I`ll try the wizard first,but what about the problems with the subnet mask and default gateway?
Logged

 
elf
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 67


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2005, 11:47:14 PM »

Well the default gateway, and subnet mask should all automatically configure when you connect to your router to your ISP.

Go to configure your router (usually http://192.168.0.1 for dlink routers), input all your PPPoE information and get it connected. It should register an IP address default gateway, etc...

Then connect your computer to the router, and reboot your computer. It should connect right to the router and obtain a gateway, and subnet automatically (assuming you have it set to automatically obtain IP address info - which is the default setting).
Logged

omg weeee
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2005, 11:41:49 AM »

Elf,,I have tried several times over the past few days to connect to 192.168.0.1 and always get the message "page cannot be displayed" this was with the router connected as per their instructions and without the router connected.
Logged

 
elf
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 67


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2005, 07:45:37 PM »

Are you connected to the right port on your router?
Logged

omg weeee
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #10 on: August 28, 2005, 11:51:17 PM »

dsl to wan port on router,port one on router to ethernet port on PC
Logged

 
elf
Full Member
***

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 67


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2005, 03:36:23 PM »

yea that's right...well if you can't connect to http://192.168.0.1 then I can't help, because without being able to configure your router you can't really do anything.
Logged

omg weeee
wayne1721
Hero Member
*****

Karma: +0/-0
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 212


Bookmark and Share

View Profile
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2005, 01:43:50 PM »

Hmmm,,well its a ball of wax then but no matter,,I`m gonna go wireless.
Thanks all
Logged

 
Pages: [1] Go Up Print 
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP

Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Disclaimer
This site is NOT responsible for any damage that the information on this site may cause to your system. Everything you try, whether inspired by the response given from this site or not, is entirely at your own risk. All product names and company names used herein are for identification purpose only and may be trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective owners. We are in no way affiliated or representing any of the companies on this site unless specified.
Back to Top
Stop Spam Harvesters, Join Project Honey Pot Fight Back Against Spammers! Get Firefox! Get Thunderbird! View Sylvain Amyots profile on LinkedIn
Back to Top
Google visited last this page December 31, 2019, 10:47:32 PM